Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Is this a negative or positive trend?

Nowadays, people’s opinions differ as to whether to take a year out before attending the university. While some argue that this phenomenon brings several drawbacks, I state that the benefits outweigh these.

Firstly, once students decide to take a gap year, they are likely to lose the most necessary qualification - Bachelor's degree. This is because some lessons are out of students’ depth when they come back so that they can fall behind their peers. Therefore, people will procrastinate their studies then dropping out of university. Additionally, there are several inevitable difficulties that students have to face up. Due to the lack of emotional support and practical experiences at the first time, bad guys can easily take advantage of these young men such as burglaries, robberies, and swindles.

Despite several undeniable drawbacks, the huge benefits gained through these years should not be overlooked. Firstly, students have more time to think thoroughly about their job applications. Those in dilemma in finding careers, for instance, having a chance to discover the interest and potential abilities. Secondly, this decision also helps people to broaden their horizons. This is because students are able to socialize with people from all walks of life and explore new places, making way for them to accumulate hands-on knowledge and experiences which have never been taught in university. Moreover, students are provided opportunities to complete their curriculum vitae. The less pressure from studies in university, the more time students can spend on volunteering and engaging in important exams such as SAT, IELTS, and TOIEC.

In conclusion, taking a year out instead of attending directly to university is still a topic of debate. With these aforementioned ideas, I am convinced that this trend brings both positive and negative impacts.