Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced.

What are the reasons for this?

Is this a positive or negative development?

Retailers have increasingly offer foreign goods instead of local products is an issue of broad interest. Development of transportation and increase of cooperation among nations are major factors behind this phenomenon. In my opinion, this movement brings more benefits than drawbacks.

The first drive behind the increasing sales of overseas merchandise is the widespread economic connection and dependence between countries for the time being. The more trades succeeded, the more investment allocated to enhance the infrastructure including ports, shipment, airports which in turn facilitate relevant businesses which finally lowers prices and encourages purchases of consumers. Furthermore, trades are bilateral not unilateral. Nations could spend on certain products, while exporting countries would buy the merchandise of the importers in exchange.

However, it is contrary to popular belief that import from other nations may tremendously beneficial. Some goods may not be found in the domestic market, one case in point is that Laos, a landlocked country which is unable to self-manufacture seafood thus to secure their nutrition intake, the political leaders has to maintain their dependence on their neighbors. An additional point is that countries could save their resources for other priorities such as focusing on their advantages rather than distribution on less viable investment. This is particularly the case for underdeveloped nations which often massively spend their funding on unneeded construction.

Despite these facts, over-reliance on foreign offerings sometimes backfires. To illustrate, national economy may be vulnerable to world events and local manufacturers are placed at risk of hurting their businesses. However, this could not replace the role of selling varieties to countries’ inhabitants.

In sum, sales of products from other nations is progressed along with growth of global economy. The trend offers manifold merits to citizens and countries as a whole except few minor pitfalls.