Many universities charge higher fees for foreign students. Why do they do this? Do you believe that it is fair? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over recent years, the popularity of international education has increased significantly in many countries. Nowadays, plenty of Universities establish more expensive prices for teaching overseas residents. I am convinced that this policy is absolutely reasonable since the local students obtain the preference to study and universities are able to flourish earning additional income.

I do consider that the policy on charging international students higher fees is absolutely logical. Universities spend more finance and administrative support for them due to the fact that foreign learners necessitate additional reporting requirements, more academic support as well as other services for nonative speakers. For instance, statistics from 2019 show that the allowance of one non-Russian student in Moscow University is 45% higher compared to the local student. Thus, increased tuition fees appear to be economically feasible.

Firstly, educational institutes should encourage national students to study, providing them affordable tuition fees. If the rate is equal for all students, two main problems can occur. Either price is very high and then locals cannot afford to study or it is very low so that only the most talented students can be enrolled despite the nationality. Both cases are relatively negative for the residents. For example, a few years ago the US faced the situation when the majority of students were Chinese and they had to increase price for foreigh student to be able to educate Americans.

Secondly, the foreigh students can bring substantial economic gains to the high educations system. Increased tuition fees contribute to better funded activities at University such as delivering research and attracting the best faculty. In particular, tuition fees from international students in Canada not only cover mentioned expenditures but also sponsor scholarships for talented local students. Hence, charging tuition fees to foreign students can be a tool to boost the funding of tertiary education.

To conclude, I strongly believe that charging international students the higher costs have strong arguments behind the idea such as providing the priority for national scholars as well as supporting financially tertiary education system.