Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

Finding accommodation is one of the obstacles that college students face. While some choose to stay with their family, others opt for universities' dormitory due to long distance from home. this essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this practice.

both scenarios have their own benefits. one of the advantages of living with families is that students can economize on accommodation, since they do not have to pay for rental fees and bills. In addition, they can enjoy family support such as sharing meals, heating costs and even sharing a room with their siblings. However, living within colleges’ vicinity can have its own perks as well. having a personal space means that students can concentrate better, thus study routines are easily established.

On the other hand, both cases also have limitations. Compared to staying at home, outside accommodation clearly generate higher costs, hence the need of estimating living expenses or else their budget will burn out fast. But in terms of learning quality, home environment often has many distractions and noise, which will negatively impact on students’ concentration.

In conclusion, there are positive and negative aspects of both sides, whether students choose to stay home or go for accommodation near their colleges’ area.