Many university students live with their families, while other live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

These days, while it is fairly common for many college-goers to stay with their family, it is not unusual for them to reside near the university campus, due to long-distance from home. Although there are few benefits of living with parents, there are certain drawbacks as well. this essay will discuss both aspects below.

With the increasing population, new university campuses are coming up, which are usually situated away from the main town or cities, some even located in different regions. there are many students who prefer to reside at home. this has two major benefits. First of all, no extra money is needed to rent or live in other accommodation, thereby reducing the financial burden. Secondly, staying with the family is safer and comfortable. On the contrary, staying at home may restrict social interactions, which may lead to a lack of interpersonal communication and dependence on parents.

Considering the other aspect, living in hostels or lodges near the university campus has two main advantages. Firstly, it saves commuting time, which may lead to additional time which could be utilized in other productive work and projects. For example, one can learn music or play a game in their spare time. Furthermore, residing in the campus area among different students may lead to better interpersonal relationships. Consequently, it might result in better overall personal development. On the other hand, one important negative effect of independent living is the lack of emotional support provided by family, especially when one gets sick or depressed.

To conclude, there are both advantages and disadvantages for the students staying and home and others who stay away from home, for university education. The decision must be taken by the students themselves, what they prefer in this regard.