In many western countries, there is an increasing number of couples choosing to have no children. What are advantages and disadvantages to couples having no children?

It has been witnessed in countries like US and Canada that many couples nowadays opt not to have children in their lives. This trend has both positive and detrimental effects on the individuals.

There are two main benefits of being nulliparous; firstly, by this both men and women can be more career-oriented. However, when a couple have off-springs, one of the parents have to sacrifice their career in order to bring up their child well-behaved and well-disciplined. Secondly, as there will be no children, they will remain financially sound. This is because, the family would not have to spend enormous amount of money on children’s education. According to a US report, an average parent spends around 12 years of savings on their children’s university study, which could be used for their personal needs. Therefore, neither couples have to abandon their career ladder nor they will suffer from economical crisis if they decide not to have children.

But, how would be the lives of couples who remained child-free? A study conducted in 2015 revealed that majority of older couples feel their routine to be dreary and 85% of them regret their decision of staying child-less. Perhaps, such couples miss the spice, joy and excitement brough by children and thereby they lose hope in the life. Besides, no children also mean there will be no one to take care of such elderly people. As a result, they are left at the mercy of government-aided caretakers which is usually observed in developed countries. This eventually builds up troubles for the later age.

By and large, although for now modern couples may not realise the need of the progeny, afterwards they will resent themselves. Ergo, all this calls for a thorough research on the pros and cons of staying child-less before taking such crucial steps.