Some people believe that entry to museums should be free of cost while others believe that there should be a nominal entry fee to museums. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Since past few decades, charging fees in museums has always sparked heated controversies. Some people opine that entry to the museums should be entirely free, others however argue that museumgoers must pay a small fee. This essay will not only elucidate why everyone deserves the free right to visit the museums but also scrutinize why it is important to have entrance fees in museums, using examples from Harvard University and the UK Government to demonstrate points and provqqqa1ae arguments in the subsequent paragraphs.

On the one hand, people who believe that individuals who hold an opinion that museums must be free claim, this would encourage vast number of people to visit museums. They think, if there will be no entry fee then many students and low-income families will get more opportunities to learn about their culture, traditions and history of the area, which is the primary purpose of the museums. To exemplify, according to an extensive study (2017) from the UK Government on Madame Tussaud Wax Museum, London showed that the annual visitor count registered in the museum after charging entry fees fell by 95%. So, in order to spread the culture and history to wider section of the community, entry to museums must be free.

On the other hand, people who argue museums should charge entry fees state that the revenue generated from this can be used to cover the maintenance and operation cost. They further substantiate, in case of government-funded museums, they have to rely on the mercy of the governmental authorities to pay for new artefacts, infrastructure, salaries and yearly maintenance, due to which, most of such places are left unattended and thus have miserable conditions. For example, an empirical research conducted by Harvard University, USA in 2018 on 112 museums of America revealed that those which had entry fees were far more systemic and organized than free-entry museums. Therefore, according to this group of people, in order to establish smooth working environment in the museums, there should be an admission fee to the visitors.

By analysing aforementioned views, I firmly believe that museums should have a nominal entry fee as this will significantly improve the standards of the museums, even if they have to compromise with the number of visitors.