Some people think that students who do not take a break in studies between high school and university are at a disadvantage compared to students who travel and work after high school before furthering their education. Do you agree or disagree?

In many societies, especially in affluent ones, majority of students take a pause from studies after high school graduation. Since having a gap year is a fruitful experience, I accord with the educationists’ notion that those who continue their tertiary education without break suffer from a considerable amount of setback in their life.

It is often seen that high school graduates tend to choose their university study based upon their academic scoring, however, after a while, most of them regret on their choice of course either because of lack of interest or poor pay rate in the chosen stream. But those, who take a break by travelling abroad or by working in an enterprise, are usually more satisfied in their life; due to the fact that after the gap year, they are mature enough to efficiently draw conclusions and analyses on various university streams which could be their future course of action. Ergo, taking a year off could help a teenager to choose the path they would like to follow or vice-versa.

Nevertheless, is learning only confined to a particular stream or there is more towards it? I think the latter is true as teenagers, who decide to have a year off before university education, learn various life lessons which are imperative in day-to-day life. If they work for a while, then they will acquire several qualities and skills such as punctuality, team work, discipline, and financial management. While travelling around the world will open doors to new opportunities, he or she will learn to respect other cultures and traditions, can experience true colors of life and will become wiser by gaining knowledge of different regions of the world. Therefore, the gap year concept is a product of progressive thinking of developed countries and students who opt out of this, miss a major life-time opportunity to learn such crucial social and life skills.

In essence, permitting students to take a year off in order to decide their future goals and to have life experiences can be extremely advantageous while on the other hand, skipping it would be a mistake.