Many would argue that scientific research requires a degree of oversight from the relevant governmental authorities. In my opinion, properly handled, this is a sensible and necessary policy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Some people claim that to prevent human error in undergoing academic research, the supervision of relevant national experts is essential regarding apprehensive and tangible ethics. There are several advantages and disadvantages of this issue which I elaborate in my essay.

Regarding the benefits, legal supervisors could help to acquire easier credible data and any legal permission required during research process, in order to maintain its integrity in a scholarly journal publication. The OECD Global Science Forum in Tokyo workshop stated that International Consultation prevents misconduct in research such as fabrication, falsification and plagiarism. Furthermore, the scientists more likely focuses on their project as long as funding agencies are committed to it. Collaboration with national institutions, research community could complete it without any obstacles and hindrance of funding source. To illustrate, the European Union and its members establish large-scale marine scientific exploration to prevent the biodiversity loss.

Conversely, this view might show the drawbacks that there is no freedom to scientific experts due to legal contract. All the parties involved entail agreements of the right to own intellectual properties and control publication of research results. It is believed that in terms of the objective of the study, such results will not be able to be fully implemented in society. In addition, scientific projects may be aimed for the greater good of political intervention which internal officials potentially abuse its novelty. Snowden, an American technology specialist and whistle-blower leaked highly classified data of NSA in 2013, on behalf of human rights.

In conclusion, the positive sides of alliance between scientific experts and political authorities include concerning on readable data as well as obtaining support from government. Meanwhile, the plausible drawbacks of this phenomenon should be considered as well.