Mobile phones and the internet are very useful However its rare for the old people to use them In what ways can mobile phone and the internet be useful to the old people what could be done to encourage the old people to use mobile phone and internet

With the development of technology, high-tech tools such as mobile phones and Internet are changing our world significant and they become extremely useful tools to help people to deal with jobs in every respect of our life. However, the elderly are not good at using such convenient tools so that just a few of them utilise Internet or smart phones. In fact, there are a wide array of ways they can use these useful tools.

Frome the point of my view, a smart phone is maybe the most useful tool for the aged people. Since family structure has been changed in current society, grandparents, parents and grandchildren living together as a extended family is impractical. Normally, separation living is the most common circumstance. A smart phone makes sure family members can hear and see each other any time any where. Family bonds reconnect via it, instead of waiting for the response for a long time. In addition, some aged people are likely to lose their ways when they are outside. It is a dangerous situation if he/she cannot get help on time. With the help of Internet and other tools such as GPS, it is easier to locate the lost people and solve this potential risk timely.

The elderly should be encouraged to use Internet and mobile phones. One possible solution to cope with this is to change their stereotype and help them to be willing to adopt the novelty. Aged people are always deemed to be slow learners. Admittedly, their energy, ambitions and motivations are not as the younger generation. This should not become the reason why they are reluctant to adopt changes. The government needs to help them to change their stereotype and make them use Internet and mobile phones positively. For example, my local community library offers Computer & Internet training for free. Participants can get one-to-one help in terms of computer and mobile technology, which benefits those who are not good at computer skills.

In conclusion, there are a variety of ways for aged people to use Internet and mobile phones so that the elderly need to change their stereotype and overcome the fear to high-tech tools with helping by the government.