Mobile phones have made our lives easier: anyone can use a mobile phone to answer or make work calls or home calls at any place 7 days a week. Do you think this development has more positive effects or negative effects on the individuals and society?

With the advent of handsets, it seems to be a torture for modern citizens to live without their smartphones. While the telephones may have some undesirable effects on people’s mental well-being, I argue that the invention of this electronic devices is a positive development.

The popularity of smartphone may damage modern citizens’ interpersonal relationship, thereby posing a strain on their mental health. Since digital games and social media can be highly addicted, people may spend excessive time on their phones, instead of talking and interacting with the other. In the long term, they will be trapped in a virtual world and the relationship between friends and family will be weakened. With a healthy support system, people are more likely to experience mental disorders, such as anxiety and depression.

However, there are various reasons why the use of cellphones has more advantages than disadvantages. Firstly, telephones allow people to have easier access to information. For example, academics can gain insight to the latest development of technology and science while normal people can know more able the local news. Secondly, economic growth can be benefit from the use of telephone. Through mobile phones, business owners from different countries can communicate with each other face-to-face and they are more likely to trust each other. For this reason, global trade will increase and the economy will be flourishing. Thirdly, cellphone can strength family bonds. It is common for people to migrate to other cities and they may have less time to spend with family members. By using telephones, people can talk to their relatives in long distance and they can share each other’s daily life.

In conclusion, I accept that the use of mobile phones may damage people’s emotional well-being, but it seems to me that this trend is an overall positive development.