Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes and what solutions can be offered?

What is your view? Discuss.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In modern times, children are likely to be vulnerable to some diseases that were found in adults only. One of the some popular diseases is obesity. This essay will look at some primary causes of this and suggest several possible solutions to this problem.

There are many factors which lead to obesity. To begin with, the development of technology contributes to the production of a variety of attractive video games. These games appeal to children and disturb them from their concentration on study. More specific, children spends too much time on standing in front of the computer's screen and joining violent competitions through unreal characters on the Internet. As a result, they become less active and lose interests in extracurricular activities and outdoor sports, which are necessary for burning calories and keeping fit. In addition, more and more companies produce various kinds of fast foods and junk drinks that contain a lot of fat. Consequently, these kinds of foods are attributed to overweight conditions and if children eat too much, they can become sensible to be out of control their weight.

There are a number of possible solutions to help tackle this problem. Firstly, government should puts heavy taxes on factories which are responsible for producing and advertising fast foods and junk drinks. Simultaneously, government should invest in building modern gym facilities and sporty parks to raise awareness of citizens about the importance of doing regularly exercises. Besides, parents also have responsibility for encouraging their children to work out and take part in active activities with friends instead of staying at home and putting their noses on the computers. Additionally, parents should control their diets and provide them with proper nutrition on each meal.

In conclusion, there are various factors leading to obesity and steps need to be taken by the cooperation between government and family to address this serious issue.