In modern societies, it is possible for people to go shopping, work and

communicate via the internet without face-to-face communication. Is it a positive or negative development?

In this day and ages, the Internet has revolutionized people’s lives that enabled them to carry out various tasks without direct communication. Whether this progress brings more harm than good is a debatable issue. I, personally, believe its drawbacks are greater.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that this development is beneficial to many people. Firstly, that people can do shopping, work from home and keep in contact with loved ones on the Internet platform can save their valuable time. Without wasting time going to stores in person, a customer, from their home comfort, can easily order his desired items just after some mouse clicks and receive them within one or two days. Secondly, the Internet has facilitated international trading, which has fostered the progress of globalization and integration. This is because the executives in multi-national companies can supervise and monitor their operation across the globe via the Internet, ensuring a smooth business flow. A telling example is Apple, a technology giant in smartphones, which has achieved huge successes in faraway countries such as China and Vietnam.

I am inclined to the view that the Internet’s downsides could be hardly unarguable.

There might be an accelerating people’s dependence on the Internet, thus they are likely to immerse themselves in a virtual world rather than relating to real communities. As a result, an increase in problems, including social isolation and health disorders, such as depression or autism, is expected. More seriously, the Internet development could lead to more and more online crimes, which adversely influenced the society. In fact, bullying on social networks has been alarming, in which biased information about someone can be transmitted quickly and consequently, he may receive tons of vulgar comments, interfering his personal life.

In conclusion, despite enormous benefits of the Internet, the government should take steps to mitigate its drawbacks, ensuring a better technological world.