In the modern world it is no longer necessary to use animals for food,clothing or medicine. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

The use of animals as source of food, medicine and other purposes has increasingly aroused ethical controversies in many societies. Personally, I am not convinced that the essence of animals has become less prominent, as we shall see.

On the one hand, it is true that the number of people objecting to the use of animals, namely vegetarians and animal rights activists is utterly large. It appears to be paradoxical that while we always teach our children to love and respect animals, we can easily see numerous dismayed scenes in social networking sites in which animals are treated or even killed cruelly and mercilessly. In all likelihood, those bring about negative effects on the mental development of a child. Besides, the ubiquity and convenience of synthetic materials have made humans less dependent on animal-derived clothing such as leather or fur.

Nonetheless, animal protein sources such as meat, fish, eggs or milk play a vital role in optimizing our physical and mental development, especially for children and adolescents. Although fruits and vegetables also provide an essential source of vitamins and minerals, the nutrition from livestock and other aquatic animals is still irreplaceable. More importantly perhaps, in terms of medical research, animal testing is the optimal way to examine the efficacy of a medication or vaccine before it is applied to humans. It can be said that without using animals for medical examinations, virulent epidemics are less likely to be eliminated on both national and international scales.

In conclusion, I agree that people should stop using animal for unimportant purposes such as clothing but I totally object to the idea that we should not consume animal source food or use animal for medical examination.