In the modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals for food, clothing or medicine. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that it is high time people stopped using animals in the manufacturing of food, clothing or pharmaceuticals. While I opine that modern technology has reduced human"s reliance on animal products, I believe that it is too early to completely remove the functions of those goods in our daily life.

On the one hand, those who oppose the use of animals in making clothes is understandable. Artificial materials such as plastic fibres have been introduced into the texttile industry recently with unique perk such as supreme durability. What is more, scientists are constantly improving those synthetic materials to make them not only safer, environmentally friendly but also more comfortable to wear. Thus, the use of animal's leather in the garment industry should be excluded thoroughly.

Notwithstanding, it would be problematic for people to replace the role of animals in food industry and pharmacy. Despite the increasing popularity of vegetarian diet and its benefits, only meat or fish can provide human body with essential nutrients, such as proteins and fatty acids. In others words, it would cause a real problem if meat and fish are derived from people's meals. Furthermore,the role of animal in pharmeceutical industry is absolutely indispensable. animal testings not only enable scientist to ensure whether a new chemical substance is safe on human body not but may even discover medical breakthroughs such as blood tranfusion, which may save millions of lives.

In conclusion, although I consent that there is no longer need for animal in making clothes I strongly believe that animals are of pivotal importance regarding food or pharmeutical industries.