In the modern world, people are no longer necessary to use food from animals or product from animals such as medicine and clothing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent days, it is widely advocated that people should avoid consuming animal food or animal product like clothing and medicine. In my viewpoint, although this trend could be beneficial in some aspects, human will suffer great loss once we eradicate products derived from animals.

By not using food or product from animals, many positive outcomes can be seen. Firstly, we can preserve the diversity of the species in the wildlife. For instance, rhinos are being hunted savagely just because their horn is somewhat precious for medical purposes, or crocodiles have their skin peeled simply for luxurious, fashionable items like purses or coats. If people keep doing that repetitively, those animals will soon be extinct in the foreseeable future. Secondly, not using food from animals helps people reduce the risk of suffering health problems. People have a tendency to overeat beef, pork, or lamb, which results in such disease like obesity or even some severe heart issues. Therefore, this trend is considered to be useful for human to get rid of negative, unhealthy habits.

On the other hand, despite all the advantages it may bring, I still believe that not using food or product from animals is a flaw decision. First of all, human needs a certain amount of protein for their body to function well, and the best way to get these calories is from animal food. Comparing between a beefsteak and a bowl of salad, it is obvious that the beefsteak contains much more nutrition to be active for a long day. Secondly, animal products, medicine in particular, are the best natural cure for a certain symptom. In Asian countries, like Vietnam, we usually apply snake oil on the injured area so that it can heal faster, or sometimes we consume oil fish to help prevent the brain from aging. In addition, clothing from animals might be a better choice than the man-made ones. Wool clothes, for instance, are usually prominent for their warmth and they have less chance of skin allergy when we wear it. Those are the reasons why we should not eliminate the food or product from animals.

All in all, some people may think that stop using food or product from animals is a great change; however, I disagree that statement since these animals’ products are utterly valuable for humankind.