In the modern world, people no longer need to use food or products from animals, such as medicine and clothing. Do you agree or disagree with that statement?

The issue of using animals to produce consumables such as food, clothing, and medicine has been a topic of heated debate for years. It is believed that killing them to manufacture these kinds of goods is unnecessary. In my view, I totally agree with this idea.

The excessive consumption of meat will pose a health risk to eaters. Eating a lot of saturated fat contained in some meats raises cholesterol levels in the blood, therefore, it will lead to chronic diseases such as stroke or heart attacks, and premature death. Moreover, many studies have shown that a plant-based diet not only provides sufficient nutrition for our body to function but it also helps us reduce our carbon footprint as cattle farming is the main source of methane which is the major factor causing global warming. My grandmother is a good case in point. She has been a vegetarian for over 50 years for environmental purposes, and she is still in good health at the age of 80.

Furthermore, utilizing animals for fashion and medical experiments should be prohibited due to humanitarian reasons. Fauna, such as tigers or crocodiles, have been killed for fur and leather in the fashion industry. In addition, it is unethical to sentence them in laboratory cages, and intentionally cause them pain and fear. Notably, most novel drugs that have first passed animal testing usually fail in humans. There are now similar products made from plants and artificial materials that can fulfill our needs. Hence, these creatures do not have to suffer for our needs anymore.

In conclusion, for the reasons above, the suffering of animals just to satisfy our lifestyle is no longer essential because people can replace them with artificial items and vegetarian foods.