Money should be spent on creating new public buildings such as museums or town halls rather than renovating the existing ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many cities around the world, there is an ongoing debate about how to best allocate funds for public buildings. Some argue that buildings, including museums or town halls should be invested in rather than improving the conditions of current ones. I personally do not concur with this opinion and some reasons will be explained as follows.

Renovating existing architectures should be prioritized, first and foremost, because of its sustainability. Rather than consuming new resources for construction, renovation can greatly reduce environmental impacts by utilizing existing ones. According to recent reports, the emission from manufacturing also declined since people opted to maintain and make use of existing buildings in lieu of constructing new ones.

Additionally, this practice also helps preserve the cultural and historical heritage of a community. Since olden structures have witnessed important social events, served as symbols of local identity, or represented architectural styles of a certain era, they undeniably play an indispensable role in instilling a sense of culture appreciation in future generations. For instance, in Hoi An, a famous destination in Vietnam, instead of building new modern towels, the government decided to renovate the ancient terrace, which created a nostalgic beauty, a signature of this place.

On the other hand, many people assume that creating new public architectures can foster a sense of community. This is because these buildings can serve as important gathering places for people to come together, engage in cultural activities, and participate in civic events. However, indeed, it will definitely take a long period of time and a massive amount of resources in order to construct those. That is the reason why maintaining existing ones tends to be a better option.

In conclusion, while erecting new buildings may have its merits, I believe that renovating existing ones should be a wise practice. It is a more sustainable, cost effective and culturally sensitive approach that acts as a precursor to a more civilized and progressive society.