The money spent by governments on space programmes would be better to spend on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Governments in some countries spend large amounts of money on space exploration programmes. I completely agree with the idea that these are a waste of money, and that the funds should be allocated to public services.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why space programmes should be stopped. Firstly, it is extremely expensive to train scientists and other staff involved with space missions, and facilities and equipment also come at a huge cost to the government. Secondly, these programmes do not benefit normal people in our daily lives, they are simply vanity projects for politicians which shows power to the other countries. Finally, the risk of incidents is also the most common problem with this project, because it does not ensure astronaut's life. For instance, on January 28, the Challenger space shuttle killed all 7 astronauts on their way to space after 73 seconds leave.

On the other hand, I believe that governments should spend money on the necessary public services. It is cheaper to train doctors, teacher, police and other public service workers than it is to train astronauts or the scientists and engineers who work on space exploration projects. Furthermore, public services do jobs that have a positive impact on every member of society. For example, some public services such as hospitals, schools are essential for people in poor countries. Finally, if governments reallocated the money spent on space research, many thousands of people could be lifted out of poverty or given a better quality of life.

In conclusion, i feel public services do have an important role in our life, the government shoul carry on spending on people's welfare as poor people, and it wrong to waste resources on projects that do not improve our everyday lives