Mony peopre use disfonce-leoming progroms lo sludy al home, but sorne people think thol it connol bring lhe benefrf os rnuch os ollending correge or uniyersiltry. To what exfenl do you dgree or

disogree?

It is undeniable that the distance learning mode is very useful, especially for those living in remote areas, for those who are physically challenged and for those who want to do a job while studying. However, there are many advantages in actually attending a university, which would not accrue to a person who prefers to learn through the mode of distance education. Let us see how going to a university scores over the distance-mode.

ln the very first place, going to a university provides the opportunity of face-to-face interaction with the teachers. Classroom lectures are more educative and enlightening than mere reading of written courseware due to the direct interaction between the students and the teachers. The student not only masters the contents of the prescribed lessons, but also gains a deeper insight into the subject as the teacher elucidates from his own experiences. lf there are any doubts in the mind of the student, the teacher can readily offer the necessary clarifications. lf he has not been able to fully comprehend any particular aspect of the lesson, he can request that it be explained to him again. Students can also help each other through the exchange of ideas and information, after the class hours.

Secondly, one learns in a more disciplined atmosphere. One has to attend the classes regularly and in time. This results in a more focused and systematic study. This leads to better preparation for the examinations and consequently better results. Also, one can easily access reference books and other valuable reading material from the University Library.

Apart from the academic curriculum, the student also gains by useful participation in other extra-curricular activities like sports, competitions, contests and the like. All this helps in the sharpening of his communication skills and the overall development of his personality. He develops better team spirit and learns the art of working with others in a group. Another great advantage is that of campus placement opportunities. Many reputed companies approach the good universities with offers of campus placements for their students. They are thus saved from the uncertainty and hassles of a laterjob hunt.