More and more business meetings and business training have taken place on the internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is claimed that online meetings or training are becoming more and more popular in the workplace. While this opinion is valid to some extent, I believe that using the internet to replace some activities in business procedures should be considered.

It is understandable why some people support the opinion that all activities should be organized offline mode due to the drawbacks of online forms. When organizing activities through the Internet, people do not have the physical connections or chances to interact face-to-face that an offline-based website can provide. These points lead to a lack of real experiences and make it difficult to evaluate the real potential or attitudes of business partners and employees. Furthermore, meetings or onboarding through the computer screen can distract people from concentration by pop-up notifications or other external environments. However, this thinking is flawed. Personalities are difficult to find out through the early-stage process, and the concentration of people does not all depend on the external elements.

Changing from offline systems to online ones in some business procedures are likely to involve more changes, requiring businesses to adapt to new developments but it also intervenes in firm developments. This new kind of meeting can be flexible in time and money for all parties or between employee and business in particular. Money is saved not only from daily workplace activities but also in fuel budget. This point can reduce pollution from vehicle pollutants and traffic jams altogether. Additionally, online meetings or training can use recording tools to save the video as documents, which facilitates people to watch again whenever they forget some details or for specialized purposes. These advantages outweigh the drawbacks online meetings can provide.

In conclusion, choosing online platforms in business procedures has its detriments but the strengths they have are worth considering.