Many employers believe that good social skills are as important as good qualifications to succeed in a job, so they are employing people who are with good social skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Human Resources are always the controversial topic for corporations to develop their business to reach their own goal. Especially in the recruitment phase. It is claimed that recruiters prefer hiring candidates who have more social skills than those who have excellent certificates only. Personally, I side with the former view.

It is understandable why some people support the opinion employing the candidates who have good qualifications. The key rationale here is that these accomplishments prove that the employee has the solid foundation of a specialized area. Additionally, it also shows their good self-study or self-discipline skill to reach the best score. However, this thinking is flawed. Only qualifications do not confirm their real potential or suitability for the applied positions. The candidates have to prove their social skills which cover lots of different aspects through the job interview, result from previous jobs and their reactions in a group or community.

The key point of social skills is that people who have them can adapt to the market trends or tendencies better than others. Some aspects of knowledge will expire in a particular future phase due to worldwide development. After all events, social skills are still there, and they are also the basis for humans to connect and find solutions. These kinds of skills such as communication, interpersonal relations or negotiation, are not really taught in school educational planning or any courses, they are from the real experiences and the self-reflection of people to improve these kinds of achievement. Furthermore, they help candidates understand themselve more clearly and avoid losing direction in their career path. It is important for employers to save their time for recruiting new employees and later onboarding or training procedures.

In conclusion, social skills in recruitment are the essential point for recruiters to consider suitable candidates for their company.