More and more city workers are deciding to live in the country and travel into work every day. The result is increased traffic congestion and damage to the environment. What measures do you think could be taken to encourage people not to travel such long distances into work?

City centers around the world, from Shang Hai to New York, are beset with a common problem: traffic congestion. Combined with the overcrowded issues, city dwellers are of the opinion living in the suburb area. However, it seems that this phenomenon has led to other environmental problems such as air pollution due to the long distance commutes. Thus, there are certain measures, which will be discussed in this essay, should be implemented in order to alleviate the situation.

First and foremost, public transportation, which is still lack in developing countries, seemed to be the best solution in this scenario. If trains and buses facilities are improved with the funding from the government, people, who live far from the city center, might feel incentive to use it more. Thus, the number of private vehicles come into the city could be reduced, leading to less traffic jams. In addition, the authorities should implement several taxes, toll fees on driving and parking cars in the urban areas. This money then could be used to enhance the city facilities as well as tackle the environment problems.

Another solution that could be effective is to create more job opportunities in hinterland and support the work from home trend. If there are better job offers in the country side, where people the range of occupation is still small, people might not have to travel a long journey to workplace as usual. Furthermore, it appears that if companies and the governments take the advantages of the trending of working from home, it could also help mitigate the congestion issues since leaving home to work is unnecessary. Although, these measures could temporary solve the problems but it might facilitate the urbanization, which is another global problem.

In conclusion, improving the public transport and imposing certain fees on own a cars would certainly curb the traffic congestion. Although, bring the job opportunities and works from city to home and to country area are effective too, but it might also lead to other problems in the near future.