More and more couples are deciding to be child free to have no children in other words Some people claim that those couples reach this conclusion through entirely selfish reasons While others think that they came to this decision through noble motives suc

Family is the most important and effective unit of the society. Nowadays, "No kids" family has become more and more prevalent in society and many are concerned about the negative effects of this trend. Although, general belief is that the reason for making such a decision is selfishness, others take the notion that there are more noble motives for this, such as caring about overpopulation and other environmental issues. In this essay, I discuss both views and explain why I agree with the latter group.

On the one hand, for some personal considerations such as financial issues and parental heavy responsibilities, couples avoid having children. To start with, it is undeniable that raising children and providing them proper education requires a great amount of money. Take the United States as an example, estimately 700,000 dollars is required for upbringing a child until he has graduated from a university. Thus, it is a huge financial burden for a family. Moreover, raising children requires a lot of time and attention. In other words, parents do not have leisure time to spend quality time together or enjoy themselves.

On the other hand, some partners are reluctant to have children for global concerns. I can say that, overpopulation and resource depletion are the most urgent issues facing the world today. In fact, the world population has been growing too fast over the last decades and has reached over 8 billion recently. If this trend continues, the world will run out of resources soon, namely oil and gas or water supply. So, we can relate the decision of being child free to valuable ideas rather than merely consider it a selfish choice.

To conclude, there are different reasons for couples to decide to not have children for good, for example some people refer to it as being egoistic and others think that such a decision helps us to save the world from overpopulation and consequently draining of basic materials needed for maintenance of life.