More and more people are busy with work and do not have enough time to spend with their families and friends. Why does this happen? What are the effects on family and society as a whole?

It is true that there are an increasing number of people who are occupied with working and cannot spend their time on taking care of their families and friends. This phenomenon could be explained by several reasons and brings itself many impacts on both family and society, which will be discussed in this essay.

There are a large number of factors making a great contribution to this tendency. First and foremost, the living standard of people all around the world has significantly changed and improved so that people might no longer take into account some basic needs such as food, accommodation, transportation and entertainment. Therefore, humans now opt for much higher demand in their life, including self-actualization and the recognition from the others. This is the reason why more and more people choose to work harder to have more achievements, getting higher positions in their workplaces, or becoming a specialist in their working fields. Another important factor should be considered is that the today job market has been much more competitive which gives the fact that we are living in a globally-integrated era, and humans have to spend most their time on fulfilling their job requirements as well as securing their careers.

From some reasons outlined above, this phenomenon might have some detrimental impacts on family and society as a whole. Firstly, people probably lack of time spent on their children’s upbringing that makes them always have insufficient amount of time to give their children supervision and instructions in many fields such as education, social problems and future orientations. Thus, much more children and teenagers fall victim to crimes or social evils, and gradually have bad academic performances in the schools. In some cases, when people are workaholics, they can suffer from several serious mental problems, including stress, depression and even committing suicide. This will make a burden on healthcare services and some social organizations. Additionally, due to an ever-greater demand from work, some people are inclined to spend most of their time on working and be unconcerned with their families, especially their spouse, which has a greatly negative effect on their matrimonial lives and makes a huge contribution to the increase in the divorce rate. Last but not least, if people far more concern about their work and ignore most their friends, they might lose a significant number of close-knit friends, not getting along with their colleagues, and having troubles with many social relationships.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that more and more people today spend most their time on working, earning their living and getting promotions, which can result in many drawbacks to both family and society.