More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult.

Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city.

How can governments make urban life better for everyone

It is undoubtedly true that people in rural areas move to cities for a better outlook. This comes with several problems resulting from distinctive factors and recommended measures could be taken by the government to improve the situation.

The main problem for anyone hoping to migrate to a large city is the cost of living is likely to be much higher than that in a small town or village, especially housing charges. As a result, the rate of homelessness during urbanization is heading to the top. Another drawback of living in a major city is heavy pollution including poor air quality. It puts city dwellers at a higher risk of lung cancer, asthma attacks, and other respiratory illnesses. Moreover, by increasing the population day in day out, cities witness an abnormal level of social evils such as crime and poverty rate.

However, there are various steps that governments could take to tackle these issues. Firstly, the government should control the commodities' prices as well as constructing more high rising buildings to reduce the house rent. Secondly, to protect cities’ environment, authorities would enact laws to ban vehicles in city centers and promote the use of public transport systems to deal with air pollution and traffic congestion. A third option would be to develop provincial towns and rural areas. By moving industrial zones and jobs to those regions, the pressure on major cities can be dramatically cut down.

In conclusion, a city offers many facilities and opportunities which are not present in rural areas, but not without a cost. The government has a lot to do to improve the lifestyle of the average inhabitant.