More and more people are not eating meals together with their family member. Why is this? Do the advantages outweigh the demerits?

Having a fairly high activity makes people not to eat with family members. Although it can reduce the level of family pressure, this brings more disadvantages such as lack of communication and social skills.

Many people do not spend time to eat with family members because they have different activities and busy schedules. If parents tend to be too focused on work, which spends more than 8 hours, while children tend to spend time with their peers outside the home then the opportunity to eat together is small. Evidence suggests that, workers who live in the big city are more likely to do a lot of office activities where the company has provided food services for its employees, and for schoolchildren, they prefer to dine out at fastfood after school.

Lack of skills and poor communication among family members can be strong negative impacts resulted from this. This is because, parents do not have the opportunity to build relationships that are beneficial for children's development. However, if there is a personal conflict in a family, eating together can increase the level of pressure and stress. Although not eating together can reduce stress levels, not eating with family can make family members have poor social skills. Evidence appears to indicate that, research by NASW states that 55% of children who eat less with family members tend to have poorer social skills like disrespectful and unappreciative than children who eat meals with their family.

In conclusion, people do not eat with family members because of busyness which causes a lack of bonding and relationships with each other. I believe that the negative impacts will be more like poor parenting and child development.