People are using more and more plastics. Why is this? Do the advantages outweigh the demerits?

Plastic can be a container for food in the long term is the reason why people tend to utilize them in their daily life. Despite having some benefits, it brings more detriments because it is not environmentally friendly and interferes with health.

Plastic packaging continues to be used especially in the food supply because it helps spread distribution over long distances. Furthermore, plastic packaging does not affect the taste and quality of food and beverages, so that the products inside steady fresh. Evidence suggest that, most home caterers in Indonesia still utilize plastic as a container for their packaging to make it more durable for more than 5 hours over a distance of approximately 10 kilometers.

What is more? the use of plastic has several drawbacks namely the accumulation of household waste in landfills. If a lot of plastic waste accumulates, it can have a negative impact on the health of people living in the area around the disposal. Although it may be harmful to health, plastics can be reduced by applying 3R (reuse, reduce, recycle), and also plastic waste can be broken down into small parts called microplastics. However, it turns out that the plastic waste that decomposes is not really a small part. Evidence appears to indicate that, even though microplastics are small and invisible, they cause various diseases such as triggering tumor growth, inhibiting the immune system, and disrupting the reproductive system.

In conclusion, using plastic unstinting can cause various problems both in the environmental and health. I strongly believe that the negative impact of plastic will not only affect humans but also the marine life.