More and more people are relying on the private car at their major meant of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Nowadays, there is a dramatic increase of in private car needs in modern cities. Although this could result in many issues, measures can be taken to alleviate.

The main problems caused by overuse of private vehicles can be listed as air pollution and heavy traffic congestion. Firstly, with regards to the former, because of the big number of cars in urban areas, the air quality gets worse and worse. This is one of the main reasons causing high rate of diseases that relate to lungs and respiratory all over the world. Secondly, traffic jam becomes an alarming problem and rush hours are extending in all metropolises. For example, although government has enacted new policies in order to reduce rush hour traffic burden, there remains high pressure for residents whenever they go to work in the morning or come back home from workplaces.

The possible solutions to these problems are to maximise the using of public transportation and tax increase on car purchase transactions. Public means like buses, shared cars, metro are popular ways to reducing heavy traffic jam. These vehicles are not only convenient but also very economical. Additionally, these troubles can be dealt with by the car sales tax increase, which is considered an effective way to limit over-purchase of cars. Needless to say, infrastructure in big cities is not good enough for many vehicles that can go down streets at the same time, hence car tax changes are also helpful for relieving stress from traffic jam.

In conclusion, over-dependence on cars can lead to a number of problems, yet public vehicles can be encouraged by the government to address these issues.