More and more people buy a wide range of household goods like television, microwave oven and rice cooker. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

Household appliances play an important role in our home so the quantity of people purchasing television, microwave oven and rice cooker is dramatically increasing day by day. Although there are some positive aspects of this trend but I think that there are a lot of demerits that shouldn’t be ignored.

Advances in household technologies bring many benefits undoubtedly. Firstly, they revolutionize people life by helping people to do all tasks without any difficulty. Therefore, people can work efficiently and have more free time so that they can spend on taking care of their families. Modern household goods not only upgrade living standard but also provide a large entertainment source such as watching TV, playing video games which gradually becomes an important part of our life, especially children.

On the other hand, I think that people nowadays are over-reliant on household goods. In fact, those appliances can lead to a lot of health risks if people use it constantly. For example, children usually keep their eyes glued on screens all day which can affect negatively not only on their eyes but also on their characters. Moreover, people regularly spend a lot of money buying goods without weighting up pros and cons even though they are unnecessary sometimes. The reason for this case is that people are usually swayed by advertisements so that many brand can take advantages of customers, make them buy all the thing appeared on TV. For a long term, people will waste a lot of money buying merchandises, then this trend will affect negatively on both individuals and the whole country’s economy.

In conclusion, although using household goods has many merits, people should think carefully before making a decision in order to avoid purchasing uncontrollably.