More and more people choose to have a year off between finishing school and going to university.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent years, there has been an increasing students to take a gap year between finishing school and going to university. This trend would create not only several benefits but also some drawbacks.

On the one hand, students can confront with several problems if they choose a year off. Firstly, some of them feel like they are falling behind their friends who graduated high school with them. Thus, their friends will graduate, then have opportunies to find a job and earn much money before them. Secondly, taking a gap year can be expensive. Students often have a large budget for flights, program fees, the cost of living during the year. Besides, some can lose their academic momentum which is necessary for them to study at college or university.

On the other hand, it is believed that after graduating high school is the time to take on challenges. There are many types of gap year, such as travelling, volunteering,…, in which students can take part and do more amazing things. They learn how to live independently without surrounding their families. In addition, through activities in a year off, students would recharge their batteries and broaden personal experience. Moreover, they do not only have much time to persue their passion but also know their strengths and weaknesses. So their budgets and time for a year off is totally worth.

In conclusion, the trend of taking a gap year is developed in youth despite its pros and cons. If students want to transform challenges into opportunities, it would be a remarkable choice for their future.