More and more people do online shopping Why is this the situation What is the effect of online shopping on shops and communities

With tremendous advancements in technology, it is indeed that online shopping has become a popular practice among the majority of the public. This essay discusses the causes of this trend and further focuses on its influence on the shops and communities.

Two major reasons turn out to be crowd pullers in this case. One of the major features of online shopping is its ease of accessibility which is drawing people into buying through the web. Customers can buy a product with a mere swipe or click of fingers. For instance, to place an order all it needs to be done is just select the product and confirming an order. Moreover, the variety of products present on the websites has been intriguing the buyers. Literally, thousands of versions and designs of a commodity can be seen and even compared within no time. Let us consider a situation, when a consumer visits a shop in person he or she can only go through a very less number of products. All these reasons constitute the success of online shopping.

However, though this trend is greatly advantageous from a consumer's point of view, it is causing some serious damage to businesses and manufacturing groups. As the frequency of buying online increased the number of customers visiting shops has declined these days. Consequently, losses are inevitable and small-scale businesses cannot afford to withstand this situation. For illustration, since the sale of clothing on the internet started the little textile shops and handloom shops are on the verge of extinction. In addition, shops cannot cope up with this heavy competition and have been slowly decreasing in numbers as time passes. For example, there is a sharp decline in footwear showrooms in the past few years as most of them are being sold online.

In the overview, Online shopping is definitely a significant advancement in the perspective of time consumption. However, it is posing a threat to shops and communities making them harder to run.