More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

It is true that many people find it appealing to study overseas. Personally, while i accept that this tendency has both benefits and drawbacks, i would argue that there are more advantages than disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are some crutial benefits for students when going abroad to study. In the first place, pupils traveling abroad to study can enroll in a prestigious university. It is safe to say that best universities not only own qualified facilities such as medical facilities, IT infrastrure,... but also lecturers who are experts in their fields. This can provide learners with a good educational environment. Another advantage is that students can immerse themselves in a foreign language which is not their mother tongue. When living in a foreign country for a long time, they have to integrate into a totally new community in which everybody speak that country's language. Obviously, their foreign language skill will improve rapidly.

On the other hand, going overseas to study still exists several drawbacks. Firstly, it can be challenging for students to live away from home. Most people studying abroad find it difficult to live independently without family's support, especially people who have never stayed away from home. Secondly, a number of students may experience culture shock. Overseas students are exposed to different cultures and customs from all over the world. They are cut off from familiar environment and have to access various cultures, which may lead to feeling of anxiety, depression or confusion.

In conclusion, despite the negative problems of studying abroad, i believe that its benefits outweigh the drawbacks.