More companies have opened working areas without walls or barriers on their desks. Do the disadvantages of open-plan offices outweigh the advantages?

Open-plan offices with desks free from walls or barriers have become all the rage in more companies. This essay will examine both the benefits and drawbacks of this trend to give my verdict that the benefits of this phenomenon outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, open office concepts would have pernicious effects on employees’ privacy. This is derived from the fact that workers may be subjected to unwanted scrutiny from others with just a glance if there are no walls or barriers. Consequently, they might then experience a sense of disrespect for the lack of private workplaces, which can adversely affect their work proficiency. However, open working areas assist colleagues with more opportunities to communicate and cooperate, thus accumulating interpersonal skills such as communication and teamwork skills.

On the other hand, I believe that in terms of creating friendly working environments and curtailing the budget, the merits of open-plan offices outweigh the demerits. Initially, the open-plan design can act as a deterrent to stress and contribute to productivity as it would provide workers with a sense of relaxation and friendliness. Besides, another perk of open office concepts is saving money on setup costs. For example, barriers, which is made from metal and plastic, are often sold at a relatively high price. Therefore, companies that do not purchase these products would lessen the money splurged on office infrastructure.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned explanations, I concur that the advantages of cooperative and friendly working environments and saving costs outweigh the minimal disadvantages of lacking privacy in open-plan offices.