More people today put their personal and private information online (address, telephone number, credit card number) to do everyday activities such as banking, shopping, and socializing. Is this a positive or negative development?

The transformation to using digital technologies prompts many people to publicize their intimate information. Although there are some dangers that come with this, however, this is a positive development overall.

Admittedly, there are some risks in putting your private information on the Internet. Doing this makes you vulnerable to stalkers, who may use that information to track down your houses without your consent. This is perilous as stalkers are usually psychopaths who may endanger your life over a small dispute. Examples can be seen in the United States where numerous cases have been reported because strangers appear at their houses by a trivial contention. Furthermore, sharing your bank account information could result in a loss of money. Since it would put you at risk of allowing hackers to have access to your accounts and take all the money. However, all of this could be avoided were you to be more cautious and only give your information to trusted sites and friends.

The benefits that come with having all your information on the Internet are substantial. The convenience of online banking, for example, is immeasurable. Most places now only require your phone with your credit card number included to pay your bills. Using this feature may make bringing your purses every time you go out unnecessary, which could save you from losing money due to pickpocketing. Moreover, updating current affairs on social media may help improve your relationship with friends and families, as this fosters discussions and possibly new friendships.

In conclusion, despite the many dangers of exposing all your private information online, the convenience and social interaction they would bring are far more impactful.