The use of mobile phones is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phones should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The obsession with mobile devices in contemporary society has led many to believe that phones are as detrimental as smoking. Therefore, we should prohibit the use of them in public areas. Despite the hazards that mobile phones have, I keenly disagree with this notion as phones are not damaging to humans the same way smoking is and they can enrich the conversations if utilized properly.

People are averse to phones as they can damage their social lives. With the ease of communication they offer, It’s not surprising that myriad people are dependent on it to socialize with others. Consequently, face-to-face gatherings are less frequent which may hazard our relationships with others. Furthermore, their addictive nature has caused people to use them even when they’re talking to someone in real life, thereby aggravating the problem. Many adolescents, for example, don’t mingle with others at a party owing to their preoccupation with phones.

However, I contend that the damage mobile devices cause is different from smoking. Smoking is directly detrimental to our health and well-being, whereas phones are adverse to our connections with others. The smoke from cigarettes not only affects smokers but also others who breathe it in. While phones may wreak havoc on our relations, it doesn’t involve other people in public.

Moreover, individuals can use phones to enhance their conversations. Mobile devices provide us with numerous party games, which we can make use of to make social gatherings more intriguing. The variety of the games they have also needed to be taken into account, as we can change the game if it gets tedious. To illustrate, the popularity of Mafia – a broad game – is on the rise as people now can play it without a physical copy using their phones.

In conclusion, although the hazards of mobile phones are undeniable, they aren’t as adverse to us as smoking is. Also, If utilized well, it can strengthen our connections with others. Thus, I keenly disagree with the proposition to bar those devices in public.