In most cities and towns, the high volumes of road traffic have become a problem. What are the causes and what actions could be taken to solve the problem?

Nowadays, many urban areas are suffering from the plight of traffic congestion. This essay will examine the main causes of overcrowded traffic and possible solutions to this issue

There are two major causes of traffic congestion are overpopulation and high tedency of private vehicles. The overcrowded population has led to the occupation of more areas in a small road and in a timeframe when everyone is on the road, it creates traffic jams. For example, Ho Chi Minh City, an overpopulation city in Vietnam, often experiences high-volume traffic in rush hours due to many workers leave or access their work. Furthermore, there is a rising trend in the ownership of private transportation, lessening space while travelling on the roads. For instance, a public 45-seat bus takes 30 square meters on the road, but 45 cars require an area a hundred times larger.

Some possible solutions to this problem are arranging household and promoting public transportation. The dense population can be seperated equally and spreaded all over the cities, so that the strain on major streets will be divided to all streets and the vehicles movement will be faster. In addition, authorities should encourage people’s usage on public vehicles as they significantly lessen the vehicles’s areas on roads. For instance, Ho Chi Minh city has been promoting public buses usage by upgrading buses’s interior and decreasing tickets price. Subsequently, many people started to choose bus as their main transportation method and free many major roads from daily traffic congestion

In conlusion, overpopulation and increasing ownership of private vehicles have put a strain on roads; however, that can be possibly tackled with logical households seperation and encouraging people’s usage on public transportation.