Some people think it is a good thing for senior managers to have much higher salaries than the other workers in a company. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been increasing advocacy that the significant disparities between senior executives and other junior counterparts within a company are rational. In my opinion, I completely agree with this suggestion as it reflects the demanding nature of high-level positions and boosts employees’ motivation.

The noticeable gap between the salaries of senior managers and other members mostly arises from the harsh requirements of high-level positions. It is an obvious fact that senior executives bear more weighty responsibilities. Whereas junior employees just have to do specific tasks, their senior counterparts operate the company through complicated jobs such as shaping the strategic direction and navigating complex challenges. For instance, when a company encounters issues, boards of directors are often the first who are held accountable so such positions are hard roles to stay and it is reasonable for them to earn higher incomes than others within a company.

Another noteworthy point is that senior managers are required to possess a vast amount of experience and skills. For example, in order to attain high-level positions, a person has to have a minimum of 5 years of experience as well as acquire multiple degrees and awards. Thus, a generous salary for managers serves as an effective motivation for employees, which is considered as an encouragement for the staff to strive for promotion, obtain higher income, and get better quality of life. If the salary differences stay insignificant and uncompetitive, individuals may feel demotivated to exert effort.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that higher salaries for senior executives are beneficial because senior ones suffer more weighty responsibilities and these disparities will encourage junior employees to work harder and strive for promotion.