The most effective way to solve traffic and transport problems in the cities is to encourage people from suberbs or the countryside to live in the cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that relocating people from outside of the urban area or countryside to the cities is an impressive idea, aimed at managing traffic and vehicle problems. However, I completely disagree with this statement, because moving towards city increases congestion and demand for means of transportation exceed drastically.

Firstly, migration of suberbean people make cities overcrowded by rising numbers of residents. This leads to busier roads, as every individual uses either public or private vehicles, and people often get stuck in the traffic jam. As a result, they are not able to reach on time to committed places. In addition, there is possibility to get fired from their job as they are often more likely to be late . Kathmandu city is the prime example, where residents often face the problem of getting delayed for work due to massive jam.

Secondly, a demand for transportation would be higher than the availability. Public transportation is economical and people prefer using it, so, the local transport needs to become more accessible. Also, the number of private vehicle users rises, as people must commute from one place to another for work, study and other essential purposes. For instance, the proportion of school children and college students would multiply and as a result, the amount of school and college buses would have to be increased. Hence, it arouses as a problem rather than being a solution.

In conclusion, although traffic congest and transportation issues are growing, they can not be resolved by motivating people to live in cities. It might even cause more terrible problems such as overpopulation and overflow of private vehicles as well as public transport.