Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

What problem does this cause?

What can be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Large companies spend huge amount of money to promote their products and people easily get attracted to purchase those products. In this essay I will firstly examine that the major problem of this phenomenon is closure of local businesses and then submit financial support from government to local companies would be the viable solution to motivate people.

The foremost problem caused by big corporations grabbing attention towards their goods is disappearance of domestic businesses. Due to globalization, abundance of global companies have been able to advertise their manufacture as they can pour enormous budgets. As a result, many people tend to use more exported materials by getting influenced by advertisement and the prominent personality used in commercials. Moreover, local enterprises are likely to demise gradually. For example, in Nepal, majority of people opt for processed foods such as burgers and sausages instead of locally produced organic foods.

Providing substantial funds for local manufacturer companies can be an effective way to encourage human beings to buy local products. If government contributes money to support local businesses, they can use it not only on promotion of materials, but also to increase the quality of goods. Thereby, they can compete with large businesses. In addition, donated money can be used for opening branches in different places to broaden the sales network. Pashmina industry, for instance, has become globally recognized business from a local company with the help of government.

In conclusion, although people purchase products of huge enterprise being attracted by marketing and promotion, government can increase access of local productions by investing adequate funds to spread supply network.