The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Currently,there are quite a few things which do harm to people created by scientists. It is said that scientists should stop doing research as the conclusion found by that would destroy the life of people . Though I believe those seemingly harmful items have its own value,I still agree that the benefit to people should top the list of the purpose when scientist make things.

On one hand,those harmful things was made to improve people living initially, but turned to be used for another purpose which harmed people afterwards. For example,when relativity was first proposed by Albert Einstein who is one of the greatest physicians through out the human history,it was thought to expend the system of theories about

Traditional physics in order to make a great difference to human lives. Then,by contrast,it accelerate the process of making nuclear weapons. Especially in World War II,large numbers of people died

due to those weapons. However,this kind of strategies might not happen in modem society as people nowadays prefer solve problem by peaceful ways instead of launching the war.

On the other hand,I believe it is the rapid development of technology that people living in a world more free and comfortable than usual. Imaging that just a few years ago,people hardly had accesses to reach a remote place,when the quickest transportation was the horses. Now contrast that a person can easily stretch across the pacific Ocean by air within a day. Moreover,science has also extended the life span of people. A lot of drugs as well as instruments for medical treatment came out,as a result,fewer people die from diseases and the possibilities to suffer from another sickness has dropped considerably.

In summary,it is true that developing the technology have risks to harm people,but I tend to argue that it is the science that the life of people become better.