The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

It is suggested by some people that the highest priority of science should be its contribution to enhancing the quality of life. From my point of view, I totally agree with this statement for the following reasons.

One reason is that products that make people’s lives more convenient are the results of scientific research. That is because, without research, it's hard to say whether a device is safe enough for daily usage. For example, before a rice cooker is sold in the market, there are many evaluation stages that need to be involved to guarantee that the product is not harmful to its users. Furthermore, scientists should have done some different kinds of experiments to make sure the new version of a product is performing better than its old one. Take the iPhone as an example, without researching Apple cannot introduce upgraded versions of their products annually.

Another reason is that science can help people suffering from serious diseases. Nowadays, there are many cases in which patients successfully survive from some kinds of cancer, which was impossible a decade ago. Thanks to the continuous development in the field of medicine, scientists have found out up-to-date methods for some dangerous diseases such as blood pressure, heart attack,… . Take the COVID-19 disease as an example, we can see how the advancement of science can help people survive through one of the most dangerous diseases with any individuals.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that one of the most critical roles of science is to upgrade the standard of living of its population for the above-mentioned reasons.