The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To many people, humanitarian improvements are the ultimate purpose that intellectual advances serve. From my perspective, I totally agree with this statement since only by assisting humans does the advent of science prove its worth.

Protesters might assume that the happiness and curiosity from pursuing truths are more significant than other rewards. However, until scientific discoveries could be applied to ordinary lives, these advances would not get adequate investments and attention. For instance, before the theory of Charle Darwin helped researchers explain the origin of human beings, biologist Charle Darwin himself was nearly the only one who study it with limited experiments on Holand beans. Moreover, several applications which could solve worrying problems might be missed if scientists only consider them as scientific concerns. A telling example of this is Nicole Tesla - a genius inventor with hundreds of potential inventions. Unfortunately, since Tesla did not intend to commercialize or publish them, many of his works were lost.

Moreover, prioritizing practical purposes over scientific concerns would facilitate the development of various scientific fields. For example, human developments are the cause of the advent of IT and AI technologies, not human curiosity. Specifically, Microsoft software was created to make office works less demanding, Siri virtual assistant was designed to help iPhone users with simple tasks and numerous apps on CH plays are being launched every month to serve any needs of humans. Finally, even though a discovery is considered a breakthrough in terms of science, if it causes harm to humans, it could be abandoned by governments and underrated by the public. Therefore, if any scientist wants his or her work to be appreciated, the work itself has to have some practical applications.

In conclusion, although studying science might serve several needs, scientific advances should aim to improve people’s quality of living first.