More tasks at home and work are being done by robots. Do the pros outweigh the cons?

Like many other domains, houses and workplaces have witnessed the increasing involvement of robots in recent years. From my perspective, this phenomenon brings about more good than bad due to the lengthened time for entertainment and creative activities.

Firstly, there are some drawbacks caused by this trend, including deteriorating labour skills and potential risks arising from technological defaults. Regarding fundamental skills like cooking skills and self-care skills, robots doing housework could take away opportunities for children to learn them and become more independent as mature people. Moreover, some errors in robots that can not be avoided, might harm people or lead to remarkable losses to firms if they are systematic problems.

However, in an era when leisure time is becoming more and more luxurious to many people, the time saved by robots could improve families’ life quality and companies’ economic efficiency dramatically. In terms of household chores, if robots do more housework, all family members, especially the mother, will have more time for relaxing, entertaining, playing sports and even participating in social activities. As a result, human well-being would be greatly advanced as people could now take care of both their physical and mental health. Another successful appliance of robots is in offices and factories as more repeated and boring tasks are being removed from workers’ responsibilities, which later gives organizations a significant workforce to carry out innovative plans or labour-intensive but profitable tasks like selling, marketing, and researching, to name but a few. Spontaneously, employers can also reduce a huge amount of production costs as machines require no wage and no rest. For these reasons, the pros of this tendency could easily overshadow its cons.

In conclusion, although humans pose some possible dangers, it is evident that automation in homes and workplaces has brought about enormous social and financial benefits.