Most people agree that money cannot bring happiness. Why is happiness difficult to define? How can people achieve happiness?

With the increasing value of money around the world, a lot of people believe that earning adequate amount of money doesn’t always mean happiness. This essay will discuss the reason why happiness is hard to define and the ways people can achieve happiness.

The term happiness entirely depends upon the needs of an individual. That Is to mean, different people have different needs and desires which makes it difficult to describe happiness. Furthermore, the needs of a person change as per their age. Hence, it is not always easy to define happiness as it changes according to a person’s interest and age. For instance, a child gains happiness upon receiving toys while the same child when becomes an adult, earning money may become the major reason behind his/her happiness. So happiness is often difficult for us to define.

One of the ways people can have happiness is through job satisfaction. If a person has a good working environment and receives good amount of remuneration, this leads to job satisfaction. As a result, people tends to be more satisfied and happy. Secondly, family also plays a vital role in order to gain happiness. When parents consider and fulfills an individual’s desires, they feel pleased and become happy. And at last, being socially active also tends to bring happiness among people. People become more happy when they can help other people and solve social problems. To illustrate this, a doctor may fell more special upon treating patients for free.

In conclusion, it is proven that happiness is difficult to define because of the evolving needs of people. However, one can gain happiness through factors like job satisfaction, family support and making contributions in a society.