Most people in what are known as the developed nations have homes full of gadgets and labor-saving devices, from vacuum cleaners and dishwashers to the latest in computer technology. Some people claim that despite all these labor-saving devices, we seem to have less free time. In your opinion, has technology improved the quality of life or made it more complicated? Support your arguments with reasons and/or examples from your own experience and observations.

Over the last few decades, the technology has evolved at a pace like nothing has ever progressed before. Our day to day life is dependent and influenced by gadgets all the time. A few years back, most of the houses would have a computer, a calculator, a camera, a common telephone. All these things are now replaced by a single device – the mobile phone. The advancement in technology has brought the whole world to the small hand-held device.

With the advent of technology available to build applications on top of the available operating system and easy access to computers at low cost has brought in a revolution of sort. The way we communicate has now moved from the traditional talks to instant messaging, icons, emoticons, pictures and videos. Applications like WhatsApp, SnapChat, Skype, Facebook etc. has brought world together and much more connected that ever before.

On the other hand, along with real-time means of communication and share things, the information that was confined in books and within small groups are now available at the click of a button. There is live broadcasting of current affairs and the happenings around the world. The flood of information from all directions has, on the contrary, to connected, disconnected an individual from the people around us. People now spend more time on mobile devices and less time looking around and talking to people sitting next to them. This disconnected connect has actually brought in depression because not everyone can do everything that others are doing.

Citing both the views, I would say it while the technology has brought in devices and connections in the virtual world, people have moved away in the real life. Time wasted being on the devices has actually made less time available for the people around us.