Mothers play key roles in the upbringing of children. But in the recent times both
parents are getting busy with professional life. Who in your opinion should take the
responsibility of child care now?
There’s no denying how important a role the mother plays in the upbringing of her
children. But torn by modern economics, mothers are leaving home for professional
practice, raising the question “who now takes care of the children?” In my belief, though,
all efforts to replace the proverbial mother are destined to be futile.
Observing Nature, scientifically or other wise, tells us that being a mother, if it were a
social role, is ideally possible by the child bearing female and others may only be nurses
or patrons. The physiological and psychological exclusiveness of the mother means all
the other social entities and all the greatness of science and civilization can only
supplement, and never replace, her part in the upbringing of children. Any one else
trying to don her role is simply unnatural.
But of course there is opinion in the contrary also. Modern science flaunts its age old
practice of replicating nature and natural processes. Now more than ever humans and
their society are evolving frequently against the tide of Nature, and civilization sustains
this evolution. Such evolution has also effected the socio-economic distinction of men
and women. Now in the industry women are producing as much as men do. So “women
are better off in the house” is no longer true.
While such human evolution is true and should morally be supported, going against
Mother Nature, when we’re clearly not in a position to, is immoral. Science has not yet
found a biological and psycho-social alternative for the natural mother. And while
gender equality is great, it never means fusion of the two poles of our species. I don’t
believe science never has strived to eliminate sex because it is simply impracticable. So
men and women, so uniformly productive as they recently are, don’t have to utilize their
worth in the same end of civilization.
If one person, or sex, is naturally gifted to play a special and vital role in the society, it
is her duty to thrive in it. I therefore conclude that in a child’s life its mother is
irreplaceable, and, hence, it is she who should rear her child.