Nations should spend more money on skills and vocational training for practical work, rather than university education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that governments should invest more in vocational education and the acquisition of practical work experience than in theoretical tertiary education. While practical expertise is important for certain fields, the role of university education in certain professional areas should not be overlooked.

On the one hand, it is universally agreed that one is required no formal education to succeed in the business world. This is because business skills can only be nurtured through actually working in this field, and the time spent trying to learn such skills as entrepreneurship or management through textbooks would mostly be a waste of time. A hands-on approach is what is needed to master the full package of competencies that business people need, and therefore this method of learning should always be favored over theoretical training in the field of business. To illustrate, Bill Gates dropped out of Harvard Business School to start his software venture which made him one of the most accomplished business magnets in the world today. If college education played any role in forming successful businessmen, Bill Gates would be a total failure.

On the other hand, there are other fields in which formal education is essential. Medicine, for example, relies heavily on research which is impossible to carry out without rounded theoretical knowledge specific to the field. In contrast with business, learning medicine through on-the-job training would result in catastrophic consequences because there is no such thing as trial and error when it comes to human lives. Engineering is another area of work in which university-level training is highly required. Engineering bridges, for example, takes a deep understanding of physics and applied mathematics because the whole process of such construction needs to be based on sound calculations and laws of physics. Otherwise, the bridge could collapse under pressure and claim lives.

In conclusion, both vocational and academic education should be attached equal importance as both can be highly essential in different professional fields.