New technologies and ways of buying and selling are transforming the lives of consumers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, consumers have shifted from traditional retail therapy to the ease of virtual shopping carts. The question arises, has this shift been able to transform the lives of retail customers? In this essay, I will explain exactly what this change entails and support my view that yes, there has been quite an apparent change.

Firstly, online shopping has evolved much since its launch in the era of the “dot com” boom, early 2000s. Nowadays, luxury commodities are available at the touch of one click on mobile phones, such as Instagram stores. From this, customers have derived an increased purchasing power with the saturated fast-fashion market; one store might have a tee-shirt for £5, while another has it on sale for £2.50. Furthermore, even grocery shopping is possible from the ease of one’s couch. Prior to this trend, malls and markets were visited with friends and society was not so isolated in terms of basic human interaction or dependant on technology.

When it comes to selling, along with our well-known brands, a usual consumer is now also a seller. This is because the quick acceptance of e-commerce given way to reduced barriers of entry. Whether it is reselling expensive items, say my Air Max 95s, or niche products, customised metal bookmarks, anything is possible.

In conclusion, my opinion stands to say, common shoppers lives have changed drastically. There is no longer a monopoly of bigger and wealthier brands. For both selling and buying, retail consumers has been empowered in futuristic ways.