News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do you think that there is too much emphasis on bad news these days?

For the last decade the amount of information public consumes from different sources has increased significantly. The content and the final decision regarding the place where the news should be released has always been in the hands of publishers.

I am convinced that nowadays we face huge amounts of negative information since the editors stress adverse news to draw audience attention and force people to read and watch, thereby helping the media earn bigger money and flourish.

Journalists play a significant role to keep us updated regarding what is happening in the country and in the world. Since they are facing a severe competition in their professional field most of them ought to use all possible ways to bring their information to the attention. Negative stories always provoke more feelings which means more screen time for correspondents and more fame as well. For example, if someone reads a good article they will simply forget about it after some time. However, if the same person hears the scandal story they will share and discuss in detail what leads to sales and popularity increase of the particular source of information.

Profit maximizing is one of the factors influencing media carefully choose what they need to make public. As far as I concerned most of the news channels and newspapers are independent and owned by private organizations. Editorial chiefs are margin-minded since the financial success and company growth totally depends on them. In this case, the more attention the article can grab the more space or time it will obtain for economic motives.

Political influence can be another factor impacting the decision of the editors. Government pressures the media in distorting the facts and providing information in the way authorities need them. It enables the administration to have control over the population and carry humans’ attention away from other important facts and events. For instance, during the famous protests in Moscow after the presidential elections in 2014 not even one TV channel broadcast the events occuring in the protest areas. Hence, politicians tried to keep people in the region away from the protests to avoid similar situations there.

To conclude, the editors are influenced by a range of factors to make a decision about news that service their as well as governments’ interests .